Very Specific Interviews

Rewatching ‘Lost’ In a Pandemic and Having Intense Feelings About Sawyer

“Sawyer swims in jeans the most. And it’s not even always in an emergency.”

Sarah Miller
11 min readFeb 12, 2021

--

This is the first in a new series I am starting called Very Specific Interviews™ where I will ask people about a very specific thing. Today I am talking to Toronto writer Sarah Hagi about Saywer from the show Lost, which ran on ABC from 2004 to 2010.

Sarah, thank you so much for being the first interview in Very Specific Interviews,™ First off, I’d like to congratulate you for deciding to watch Lost during the pandemic. You have made such a wonderful choice. It is so trusting and naive and hope-filled. That said, it is also nihilistic enough to feel truly authentic. Your choice to watch Lost reflects the times we live in, which is apparently important. With all the shows available what made you decide on this one?

Lost really is a fantastic show. People talked so much shit about it being dumb, but watching it with fresh eyes and zero discourse and also not knowing many spoilers at all, I think it’s really one of the best viewing experiences of my life.

I decided on Lost because a friend of mine and I had a really wonderful time watching The Sopranos

--

--

Sarah Miller

Sarah Miller is a writer living in Northern California.